Subscribe to e-mail bulletins

Receive HTML?

feed-image Feed Entries
Home News Items
News items
Barkley's US Adventures! Print E-mail

The ACTRA rogaining koala mascot, Barkley, has made a video of his recent exploits in the United States attending the World Rogaining Champs in Black Hills, South Dakota in August 2014.

Barkley attended the event with Julie Quinn and David Baldwin (who ended up coming 6th overall, 2nd Mixed Veterans/3rd Mixed Open), Ron Simpson and Jean Douglass. The rogaine had lots of areas of fallen timber and high thistles to dodge but it was great to be part of an event with teams from all around the world. Barkley even got to help a lost Russian team!

This lively crew from the ACT also took Barkley on adventures in the Rocky Mountains National Park in Colorado where he met chipmunks and squirrels, as well explore multiple high passes in the Rocky Mountains, Yellowstone and Grant Teton National Parks.

Check out the video on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WHLqAxD3rbk.

Last Updated on Monday, 17 November 2014 16:28
Entries are open for the Spring 6/12hr Print E-mail
Entries are now open for the Spring 6/12 Hour Rogaine on 18 October 2014. Set in the beautiful Bournda National Park, situated on the NSW south coast between Tathra and Tura Beach, the area was last used for an ACTRA rogaine eight years ago. The Hash House will once again be situated at the Hobart Beach campground, on the shores of Wallagoot Lake next to Bournda beach. This campground is an excellent Hash House site with large campsites (most with fireplaces) and top quality amenities including gas bbqs and hot showers (luxury)!
The course will explore the national park both to the north and south of the lake, taking in plenty of coastal views and inlets and surprisingly open bushland further west. The course will include a suggested novice loop designed so that all participants can enjoy the excellent Kangarutha Walking Track which follows the coast between the lake and Tathra. The setters have so far seen a range of wildlife from kangaroos, possums and echidnas, and are keeping an eye out for deer that apparently now roam in the national park.
Entries are $65 per person / $50 concession (kids under 14 are free) and includes camping on the Saturday night and breakfast on Sunday morning. So make a weekend of it at the coast as the weather warms up!
Last Updated on Monday, 20 October 2014 09:04
ACTRA bus to Aus Champs cancelled Print E-mail

ARC houseIf you are going to the 2014 Australian Champs in Castlemaine, Victoria you will need to make your own transport arrangements. The ACTRA bus planned did not attract much interest, so will not be run. The partner finder and carpool finder are available here.

You are strongly encouraged to enter the Australian champs - it looks like a great area and should be a interesting course.

Last Updated on Monday, 13 October 2014 14:22
Bus to the 2014 Australian Champs - Book your seat by 23 September! Print E-mail

Are you going to the 2014 Australian Champs in Castlemaine, Victoria?  ACTRA is running a bus to the event so you can get there at a very cheap rate of just $75 and you will be driven home afterwards so there will be no need to drive when tired.  It is also a very social way to meet fellow rogainers. Remember you don't need to be an elite to enter the Australian champs.  Just a connoisseur of a good rogaine!

The bus will leave Canberra at 8 am Friday 10 October and return immediately after the event on Sunday 12 October to be back in Canberra late that evening.  If possible, please "enter" the event by 23 September 2014 if you wish to take the bus so we can determine if it's viable, or at the least register your interest with David by email or 0402 270 790. 

Last Updated on Thursday, 25 September 2014 16:36
« StartPrev12345678910NextEnd »

Page 10 of 22
Joomla SEO by AceSEF

Powered by Joomla!. Valid XHTML and CSS.